Advocacy

ADVOCATE ADVOCATE ADVOCATE!!!!

Call or write your elected officials. Emphasize these points:

  • Traditional Work Center employment should remain an option based on informed choice.
  • New York State needs to increase and enhance employment opportunities for people with disabilities by providing new funding that is not Medicaid-based.
  • New York State needs to begin doing its part by:
    a) hiring people with disabilities; and
    b) truly incentivizing community employers to hire persons with disabilities.

Be persistent! Don’t give up! Fight for what’s right! Elected officials need to understand how these actions will affect families, and what the impact on individuals with severe disabilities and their families can be when Work Center employment is eliminated.

Legislative Contact Information – Please contact your elected officials below by e-mail or online contact form!  Your voice needs to be heard!

President Barack Obama
www.whitehouse.gov/contact/submit-questions-and-comments

U. S. SENATE

Senator Kirsten Gillibrand     
www.gillibrand.senate.gov/contact/

Senator Charles Schumer  
www.schumer.senate.gov/Contact/contact_chuck.cfm

U. S. CONGRESS

Congressman Tom Reed
www.reed.house.gov/contact-me/email-me

Congressman Brian Higgins
www.higgins.house.gov/contact/email-brian

Congressman Chris Collins
www.chriscollins.house.gov/contact/email-me


GOVERNOR -NEW YORK STATE

Andrew Cuomo
NYS Capital Building
Albany, NY   12224
Phone:  518-474-8390
E-Mail:  gov.cuomo@chamber.state.ny.us


NEW YORK STATE SENATE

Senator Ted O’Brien – District 55
E-Mail:  obrien@nysenate.gov

Senator Joseph Robach – District 56
E-Mail:  robach@nysenate.gov

Senator Catherine Young – District 57
E-Mail:  cyoung@senate.state.ny.us

Senator Patrick Gallivan – District 59
E-Mail:  gallivan@nysenate.gov

Senator Mark Grisanti – District 60
E-Mail:  grisanti@nysenate.gov

Senator Michael Ranzenhofer – District 61
E-Mail:  ranz@senate.state.ny.us

Senator George Maziarz – District 62
E-Mail:  maziarz@nysenate.gov

Senator Tim Kennedy – District 63
E-Mail:  kennedy@nysenate.gov


NEW YORK STATE ASSEMBLY

Assemblyman Bob Oaks – District 130
E-Mail: OaksR@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Brian Kolb – District 131
E-Mail: KolbB@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Philip Palmesano – District 132
E-Mail: palmesanop@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Bill Nojay – District 133
E-Mail: NojayW@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Mark Johns – District 135
E-Mail: johnsm@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Joseph Morelle – District 136
E-Mail: morellej@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman David Gantt – District 137
E-Mail: GanttD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Harry Bronson – District 138
E-Mail: bronsonh@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Stephen Hawley – District 139
E-Mail: HawleyS@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Robin Schimminger – District 140
E-Mail: SchimmR@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Crystal Peoples-Stokes – District 141
E-Mail: PeopleC@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Michael Kerns – District 142
E-Mail: kearnsm@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblywoman Jane Corwin – District 144
E-Mail: CorwinJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman John Ceretto – District 145
E-Mail: cerettoj@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Raymond Walter – District 146
E-Mail: walterr@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman David DiPierto – District 147
E-Mail: DiPietroD@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Joseph Giglio – District 148
E-Mail: GiglioJ@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Sean Ryan – District 149
E-Mail: RyanS@assembly.state.ny.us

Assemblyman Andrew Goodell – District 150
E-Mail:  assembly150@gmail.com or goodella@assembly.state.ny.us


OPWDD

Acting Commissioner
Kerry A. Delaney  
44 Holland Avenue
Albany, NY   12229
E-Mail:   commissioner.correspondence.unit@opwdd.ny.gov


Other opportunities to advocate on behalf of persons with disabilities

What Matters Most Campaign
www.wmmcampaign.org

Achieve Petition
www.ipetitions.com/petition/stop-the-closure-of-sheltered-work-environments

The Developmental Disability Alliance of Western NY
www.ddawny.org

NYSARC
www.nysarc.org

For more information, please contact us here.

Advertisements